Dixie Somers Dixie Somers
Other College... class of 2004
Anica Oaks Anica Oaks
class of 2012

INTERVIEW WITH AN ALUMNIS: JEFFREY COULTER

INTERVIEW WITH AN ALUMNIS: JEFFREY COULTER
Posted By: Elynor Moss on April 15, 2013

By Elynor Moss

There is nothing better than first hand advice from someone who has traveled the same road as you. Jeffrey Coulter a Central State University graduate would like to give you insight on what his college experience was like. Learn from his challenges and successes!

HC: What was your major and why did you select it?
JC: My major was manufacturing engineering. Originally, I wanted to major in architecture, but the school did not have that major available and the next best thing relating to it was engineering. I started to like engineering in my second year, I started learning cool stuff and what applications you can adapt to it.

HC: What was the toughest part about college? If you could go back, what would you do differently?
JC: The most challenging part about college is time management, especially when you advance to higher, upperclassman status. If I could go back to that time I don't know if I could conquer time management but I would put more concentration into my major. One of the biggest mistakes I made was my lack of concentration and dedication toward my senior design project during my senior year. Unfortunately, the lack of time management prolonged the completion of my senior project and I had to come back and spend half of a school year and a couple of months to finalize the senior design project!

HC: Did you find love with a college sweetheart? What is the secret to your relationship success?
JC: Yes, I did find love with a college sweetheart and we are still together after graduation. The secret is no secret. Our success relies heavily on communication, trust, and understanding. I think it is important to set rules what you can do and what you cannot do, what you expect, within reason, and your future goals (a plan).