The Graduate School Information Channel, Sponsored by:
Should I Apply to Graduate School with a Just-OK Application?
(full story below)
By Tara Kuther, Ph.D.

Updated May 25, 2015.
I want to apply to grad school but my qualifications aren't stellar. My GPA is just ok, about 3.0 overall but 3.7 in my major. I changed majors late in college. I love my major and want to work in this field as my career. I have little experience out of class: no research experience, no internships or applied work. I talk with my professors frequently but haven't worked with any out of class. I told my favorite professor that I'm considering applying for graduate study. She was supportive, but as I look at my qualifications and the school applications, I'm not sure it's a good idea. Am I doomed to failure - rejection?

This is a difficult question. Lots of students find themselves in this situation. First, let's consider the graduate school application: What are the components of the application and what purpose do they serve?

Transcript
Your transcript lists your academic performance. Admissions committees often place more weight on the GPA for your major.

Also the types of classes you've taken matters. A 3.0 GPA based on many difficult courses in areas valued by the admissions committee, such as math and science in science fields, may be worth more than a 3.8 based on courses that are viewed as soft and not valued by the committee.

Admissions Essay
The admissions essay is the place where you speak directly to the committee. The essay demonstrates your writing ability, maturity, sense of purpose, and fit to the program. The committee hears your voice. This adds the personal element to your application, describes research and applied experiences that make you unique.

Recommendation Letters